The Christmas Market in Wrocław

The Christmas Market in Wrocław

on 20nd of November, one of the most beautiful Christmas Markets will begin in Wrocław. Yet before it starts, the market square in Wrocław will become the building site for the Christmas Market's infrastructure. The installation and preparations have already begun. The great countdown until the opening is on!

 Christmas wroclaw850

This yearss Christmas Market will be exceptionally surprising. There will be plenty of novelties that are hard to find at other fairs. First of all, the area of the Christmas Market will be extended; it will include another new area - the north frontage of Wrocław's market square, and also arrive to Oławska Street. Traditionally, the wooden houses will appear on the Świdnicka Street and the southern and eastern frontage of the market square.

The new area of the Christmas Market means new attractions for the visitors. On corner of the northern and eastern frontage "The Fireplace House" with a turret will appear for the first time. The aroma of Wrocław's mulled wine and the warmth from open-air fireplaces that will warm passers-by with the heat of burning wood will attract from far away. Under the roof of the open-air fireplace one will not only find warmth, but also be able to taste delicious food. The fireplaces will be the exceptional meeting spot for friends and family.

The approaching Christmas Market is also a feast for all gourmets. In Wrocław the Swiss "Chocolate Workshop" will appear for the first time, where you will find tools, hammers, nails... And everything made out of real chocolate! Delicious and surprising in their form, the chocolates are not only a heaven to the palate but also an original Christmas gift. A novelty for the connoisseurs of European delicacies will be the Dutch waffiez - delicious waffles with caramel and pancake cookies with jam. Perfect with hot tea with honey and raspberries. Enthusiasts of Hungarian cuisine will not only acquire taste for the light and aromatic kalach; they will also be able to taste the original, Hungarian Lángos.

In the frenzy of preparations for Christmas wehastily search for presents for our nearest and dearest. In several dozen wooden houses you will be able to choose gift for your family among handmade jewellery inspired by folk motifs, leather goods, warm caps and scarfs, handicraft, artistic ceramics and other rarities which are difficult to get.

The Christmas Market in Wrocław is an exceptional time, full of the magical atmosphere of Christmas. That is why there will traditionally be the Fairy-tale Forest, the Dwarf's House, a mug of mulled wine, the Dwarf Prezentuś who will make Christmas wishes come true, a smith who will make a horseshoe with a name and Wrocław's mint master. Wrocław's market square will be the place of extraordinary, magical events... What kind of events? You will know soon! Info: Photo: Pianoforte Agencja Artystyczna offers - Flights to Poland - Bus and Coach - Hotels in Poland

The fortress of Kłodzko

The fortress of Kłodzko

first information about the rise of town, on running there, the amber route, come from the Czech chronicler's notes  Kosmas from 981, according to which in place where the fortress stands today, came the wooden settlement, which with time reformed an important centre of cultural, social and spirituals life.

twierdza kolodzko850

At about the year 1300 from wooden town, belonging to Czech rhodium Sławnikowicz, grew a splendid habitable residence. In the place of the Higher Castle there was the St. Martin's and Wacław's church as well as the chapel.

In 1557 the castle complex was replenished at so-called the Lower Castle, erected by duke's architect Ernest - Lorenz Krischke. In 1622 Austrians mastered in the town, which contributed with their workings to damage the buildings of fortress, executed modernization of castle giving it an useful new defensive character. In 1742 the town and the fortress were under Prussian rule.

In that time on the order of  Fryderyk the Great, the remainders of Renaissance Castel, chapels and church were removed. From this period comes the fort on Owcza Góra (Sheep Mountain) as so-called the distant fort.

The idea of such fort was borrowed from the fortress in Moguncja.
The construction was begun  in 1743 and it lasted about 19 years. It was the most important  point of tactical sight undertaking. Gerhard Cornelius de Walrawe (1692-1773), origin Dutch, was the main designer. He became famous with excellent acquaintance of French school of fortification.

The_fortress_of_Klodzko2He worked at building and extension of fortresses in: Szczecin, Głogów, Nysa and beyond Polish territory in: Kehl, Magdeburg, Moguncja, Wesel. In Kłodzko Fortress and Fort on Sheep Mountain, Walrawe applied, such elements of fortification how: distant forts, anti - mine sidewalks and mining. The sidewalks of Main Fortress possess several levels and they have two bypasses. Their total length carries out 40 km. About 1 km was throwed open to sightseeing.

Since the moment of reconstruction of object by king Fryderyk the Great till 1945 the strongly fortificate fortress fulfilled the military part as well as the prison. In 1864,  the insurgents of Powstanie Stycznowe (January Rise) were placed in fortress. In 1870  the French prisoners taken to captivity in French-Prussian war were placed here. In the period of second world war, in 1940-1943 Fortress was the branch of camp - Gross Rossen. The war prisoners, deserters as well as suspicious about working on damage of the Third Reich were placed into.

In 1944 on the terrain of Main Fortress was opened the factory of armaments AEG (removed from Łódz). The parts of  bullets V -1 as well as electric apparatuses to under-water boats and aviation were produced there. In February 1945, in face of approaching front, Germans began the evacuation of the factory to Turingia.

The curiosity is the fact that situated on the forteress factory workers gave the satiric writing entitled the Flea.  
In 1960 officially Fortress became recognized for relic and opened for tourists. The open  part of fortification to sightseeing is 10 %  of defensive object hugging the underground labyrinths of miners corridors as well as the lapidarium. Very curious part of Fortress is not accessible for tourists (kilometres of deep moats, casemates, sidewalks, dozen of bastons and the centrally laid donjon). Info: offers - Flights to Poland - Bus and Coach - Hotels in Poland

Czocha Castle

Czocha Castle

began as a stronghold, on the Czech-Lusatian border. Its construction was ordered by Wenceslaus I of Bohemia, in the middle of 13th century (1241 - 1247). In 1253 castle was handed over to Konrad von Wallhausen, Bishop of Meissen.

Czocha Castle850

In 1319 the complex became part of the dukedom of Henry I of Jawor, and after his death, it was taken over by another Silesian prince, Bolko II the Small, and his wife Agnieszka (see Duchy of Silesia). Origin of the stone castle dates back to 1329.

In the mid-14th century, Czocha Castle was annexed by Charles IV, Holy Roman Emperor and King of Bohemia.

Then, between 1389 and 1453, it belonged to the noble families of von Dohn and von Kluks. Reinforced, the complex was besieged by the Hussites in the early 15th century, who captured it in 1427, and remained in the castle for unknown time (see Hussite Wars). In 1453, the castle was purchased by the family of von Nostitz, who owned it for 250 years, making several changes through remodelling projects in 1525 and 1611.

Czocha's walls were strengthened and reinforced, which thwarted a Swedish siege of the complex during the Thirty Years War. In 1703, the castle was purchased by Jan Hartwig von Uechtritz, influential courtier of Augustus II the Strong. On August 17, 1793, the whole complex burned in a fire.

In 1909, Czocha was bought by a cigar manufacturer from Dresden, Ernst Gutschow, who ordered major remodeling, carried out by Berlin architect Bodo Ebhardt, based on a 1703 painting of the castle. Gutschow, who was close to the Russian Imperial Court and hosted several White emigres in Czocha, lived in the castle until March 1945. Info: wikipedia offers - Flights to Poland - Bus and Coach - Hotels in Poland

The Książ Castle - Wałbrzych

The Książ Castle - Wałbrzych

the original fortification was destroyed in the year 1263 by Ottokar II of Bohemia.

The Ksiaz Castle850

Bolko I, Duke of Świdnica and Jawor built a new castle between 1288 and 1292. Duke Bolko II of Świdnica died in 1368 without having children with his wife Agnes von Habsburg.

After her death in the year 1392 King Wenceslaus IV of Bohemia obtained the castle. In 1401 Janko z Chociemic obtained the castle.

The Bohemian Hussites occupied the castle between 1428-1429. In the year 1464 Birka z Nasiedla obtained the castle from the Bohemian crown.

He sold it to Hans von Schellendorf. This second castle was destroyed in 1482 by Georg von Stein. In the year 1509 Konrad I von Hoberg (from 1714 Hochberg) obtained the castle hill.

The Hochberg family owned the castle until 1941. It was a part of the Project Riese until 1945. The castle was occupied by the Red army in 1945. Most artifacts were lost or destroyed. Info:wikipedia offers - Flights to Poland - Bus and Coach - Hotels in Poland

The Srebrna Góra Fortress

The Srebrna Góra Fortress

the silver mining area was mentioned in a 1331 deed issued by the Silesian duke Bolko II of Ziębice in 1331

srebna gora850

It lies on the northern slope of the Owl Mountains range, approximately 6 kilometres (4 mi) south-west of Stoszowice, 11 kilometres (7 mi) west of Ząbkowice Śląskie, and 67 kilometres (42 mi) south-west of the regional capital Wrocław.

The silver mining area was mentioned in a 1331 deed issued by the Silesian duke Bolko II of Ziębice in 1331, a Bohemian vassal from 1336, the settlement itself in 1417. Located near the border of the Duchy of Ziębice (Münsterberg) with the Bohemian County of Kladsko on the mountain pass road to Nowa Ruda, Silberberg was often hit by military confrontations, at first by the Hussite Wars, later also by the Thirty Years' War, which left the area devastated.

In 1536 Silberberg received city rights and mining privileges, and after the Duchy of Ziębice as a reverted fief had fallen to the Bohemian Crown, the area was purchased by the noble House of Rosenberg in 1581.

It passed to Duke Joachim Frederick of Legnica in 1599 and finally fell back to Bohemia upon the death of the last Piast duke George William of Legnica in 1675. With most of Silesia, it was annexed by King Frederick II of Prussia after the First Silesian War in 1742. offers - Flights to Poland - Bus and Coach - Hotels in Poland

Flight - Bus - Hotel

Regions of Poland

Hístoric Route